Which is the proper way to remove walls in the connection between areas?

Hello,

I am not experienced at mapping and I am not sure about the right approach to follow when making maps with different areas that should be connected into a big open area, having only walls outside but not in the connections.

For example, when drawing a cave with rooms I only see two ways to have it completely open:

• Option 1 is to draw the cave as one entity using one line. But as I do not have the complete idea in mind at the beginning, if I want to change a part I have to redraw everything again. Picture "one line" represents this. I draw the cave at once, the right result, not great for further modifications.
  • Option 2 is to draw it area by area, but then each area is closed by its walls, and the result is not an open space. I don't know how to trim the walls in the connection of the areas (looks like trim is not working with areas). Picture "multiple lines" represents this. I draw area by area, nice for the design process but with walls between areas.

So, which is the right approach to follow while drawing something like a cave? Is there a simple way to remove those parts of the walls?

Thanks in advance!

One line:

Multiple lines:

Best Answers

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    Accepted Answer

Use the trim tools, such as Break to create breaks in lines. Combine it with the various modifiers, such as Intersection to start/stop breaks exactly where the lines meet with the line from the other room.

You can then combine the line segments into one path using tools such as Combine Paths if you need to. (If you need to depends on how you are going to use them. Just having individual paths that just meet up in the exact same point is often enough.)

LoopysueRoyal ScribeNostromo007
    Accepted Answer