Can someone explain how I can make my map print on the entire page?

Hi, I've been going through some tutorials for this program and have been able to make a pretty decent map, but am now realizing that since I started the map when I had no idea what I was doing, I may have made some mistakes in the initial setup. I work as a CAD Drafter, so I have a decent grasp of the basics of print scales and things like that, but my job is more focused on small parts, not massive maps. I made this map with a scale of 1083 x 800 (not even sure how that was the number to be honest), but I have access to a printer that is capable of printing an 11x17 sheet and want to print it on that. This map is just an overall world map, so precise scaling isn't a huge issue for this one, but I do intend on making city and encounter maps with this as well and would like those to be more accurate. For an encounter map for example, where I want 1" squares to be printed out on the paper, do I make the print scale 1" = 5' and then size the map accordingly? Which would make the map scale 1020 x 660 take up the entire 11x17 sheet? Thanks in advance, and let me know if I need to post any more clarifying information.

Best Answer

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 81 images Cartographer
    edited July 25 Accepted Answer

Yea, there is actually a white polygon around most maps by default, on the SCREEN sheet, it is used to hide stuff that might be sticking outside the map border, since a drawing is technically borderless. But the printer will still see that as a valid area to include int he printing.