Locking An Entity and other question

Hi, Amazing people of the forum.

I have 2 main questions

1st is it possible to lock an entity into place effectively making it non-editable unless unlocked?

the second is, is it possible to make the background bitmap fill less blocky? (i don't mean in relation to the view but the physical number of bitmap squares per map (if that makes sense)

PS. I have tome of mapping and checked the forum, but being a noob I don't know the correct terminology to search the correct thing.

Huge thanks in advance.

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    If you place the entity on a new layer all of its own (that's a layer, not a sheet) you can freeze that layer. The effect will be that even though it is probably on the same sheet as other entities, it alone will be frozen in place. You won't even be able to select it.

To help you find it among all the other layers if you need to unfreeze it at some point in the future its probably best to name the new layer in a way that indicates exactly what it does, like "FROZEN TREE", or whatever it is.

I would prefer to see the blocky issue before getting too deeply into suggestions about how to resolve it, because it depends on the size of the map and the desired resolution of the export as to whether changing the scale of the fill will help. The pattern you see is called 'redundancy'. Its always there in any seamless fill, no matter how well they are made, but there are several things you can do to alleviate the problem:

- scale the texture
    - add another layer above that one with an Edge Fade Inner sheet effect in play and put irregular patches of another similar fill on it to break up the pattern