Quality of large DD3 Map - Is this as good as it gets?

Hi,

just finished my first map with Dungeon Designer 3. It is a large map that I want for a siege weapon battle in the tabletop software roll20. The quality is not terrible but if you zoom in (what we will in roll20) you can see each pixel and little things like the weapons and armor on the shelfs in the courtyard are hard to identify as such. I am not sure, if I can improve the quality without going over the 10 MB max filesize of roll20. Here is the link to the picture https://www.flickr.com/photos/136875169@N07/23005028486/in/shares-03FSLJ/ (you have to download it in full size to see the problem). Its my first time using flickr as well, so I hope that works as I want it to.

And here is what I did:

- Used a battle map with a custom resolution of 300 width and 400 height, cause the map should be 300 times 400 feet wide. (Only 95% sure I used those resolution settings, I dont know where I can look that up in DD3)
- Once I finished the map I exported it as a 9,5 MB JPEG with 3000 times 4000 resolution and 99% quality (100% was just over 10MB but looks the same).

So, is this as good as it gets on a large map, or did I screw up?

Comments

• WarEagleWarEagle Newcomer
    edited November 2015
    You can ramp up the exporting resoliton to about 9500x9500 that's the maximum CC3 can handle.
    Also try 75%, this normally is the sweet point for jpgs.

If you need more, you have to do multiple images and stitch them together with a 3rd party image editing tool after export. If you need really high resolution-export take a look at the GoogleMaps-Thread, the tool generates a macro for exporting multiple max-res-images from cc3.
  • MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    edited November 2015