Mountain Range, Symbols, scale and other issues on a continent sized map

Hello all! I’m brand new to mapping with CC3, although I’ve been drooling over the programs for years now. I currently have CC3, CD3, DD3, FT3, and the Tome of Ultimate Mapping. I’ve gone through some of the video tutorials, and plunged in on the deep end of trying to make a world map.

Here’s the background on my question.

I have created a world in FT3 that I’m quite happy with. There are a few large continents with some small islands and such. I saved the FT3 map that I liked so that I have it available to make different ones at different scales. What I’m trying to do at the moment is to map out the central continent, and then break it down to the detail maps for places of interest that I want to map for players (such as cities, ruins and the like). I worked with the FT3 map to get the mountains the way I wanted them (I’m not particularly interested in whether it’s “accurate” to world building and such. That may be something I work with later on, but as of now it holds no interest for me, I just want to manage a map that doesn’t look like something that went through a blender…LOL). I exported one of the large continents with the expectation of recreating the mountain ranges and such based on the FT3 map. I exported the map as a coastline only one since I didn’t like any of the exports that showed the height information, with the intention of recreating them myself on the map using symbols.

Now to the question/issue.