Hi All

Sam here...I had CC way back around 2000, and have just bought CC3, FT3, CD, DD, and the annuals (yikes!)

So I've been trying to spend a lot of time learning its intricacies in the last week or so. Needless to say I have a lot of questions (I am no graphic designer).

I've started a map using Jon Roberts style (which I think is awesome!)

Some questions...but before I ask them, please bear with me (and correct me) on my use of terms, which, no doubt, will be wrong).

Is it possible to change the color/style of landmasses I've already created?

What I mean is...I drew the land mass (on the Land sheet) using the default color. Now I'd like to change the entire land color/style to forest. Is there a way to do that?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    Absolutely. There are two basic options I would recommend for this task.

1. If there exists a drawing tool in the style you wish to change your landmass into, then right-click the change properties button, and select the "Change like draw tool" option. Now right click to get up the list of drawing tools, select one, then select your landmass, then right click and select "Do It".

2. Or, more simply, click the change properties button, select your landmass, right click and select do it, and select the new fill style/color from the dialog that appears. Note that if your landmass has an outline, you must be careful so that you don't select that one at the same time. Best way to do this is to exclude black entities by using the Not operator when you do the selection (See the editing chapter in the manual for more details about the selection process)
  • Thanks for your quick reply! I'll give it a shot. I find that there's so much that you can do, it gets confusing and I get bogged down in inertia.
  • edited November 2012