Getting jpg map into FT3

I know FT has a map for Mars, but it is the much smaller version that doesn't include the north pole.

I want to import the correct version into FT to use but I am new to all this and require some assistance.

I've searched through the forums and found a way to get an image into FT using CC and Wilbur however how do I get the initial image into CC and then what do I need to do with it once it is there to get it ready for Wilbur?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here are some links for reference:

Tutorial for getting image from CC to FT

Map of Mars to use

Comments

• Any thoughts? I am trying to product out to see if it can do what I need and if so I plan on getting one of the bundles. First, I need to see if I can get this into the program first.
  • jslaytonjslayton Moderator, ProFantasy Mapmaker
    You can import such an image into FT as an image overlay.

Use Image Overlays>>Show Overlay Window to show the Image Overlays window.
    Use Add on the Image Overlays windows to bring up the Edit Image Overlay window.
    Use Import Color Image on the Edit Image Overlay window to select your JPEG file. One wrinkle here is that FT only allows a 5100 pixel wide overlay, so set the Width to 5100 and Height to 2600 after selecting the image.
    Click OK to dismiss the Edit Image Overlay window. Your image should now be displayed (upside down) in the main FT window.

Note that this technique gives you an image, not an editable planet surface. For that, you'd want to download one of the MOLA altitude data sets rather than an illuminated image. You can import that data into FT as a binary surface (File>>New, select Binary File at the Type window).

If you'd like to use the data in Wilbur, consider working with the MOLA altitude data directly in Wilbur.

What is it that you're planning to do with the data?
  • edited March 2012