FT3 settings to Produce Best Closeup Quality

I'm hoping to create a world in FT3, export it to CC3 five levels deep and create corresponding images to use as backgrounds. I want the lowest level to be as zoomed in as possible without the fractal pattern being overly obvious. What are the best settings (or techniques) for achieving this? Note that I'm still very new to this. :)

I'm currently using Wilbur Ridged Multifractal. Does an alternative give better results? I read something about octaves that sound like they may apply but couldn't find any more detail on them or any settings that sounded related.

I have Wilbur installed and am not averse to using it if that would give better results but I know almost nothing about it (compared to the slightly more than nothing that I know about FT so far).

Comments

• 3 months later
  • I hoped that this thread give me the anserw to your question...

I am also searching for something like this. Did you made any progress?
  • jslaytonjslayton Moderator, ProFantasy Mapmaker
    For best zooming capability, use one of the fractal functions with Perlin in the name. Those guys suport zooming in quite far. Eventually, though, you'll encounter numeric precision issues that will cause blocky artifacts on the display (it starts manifesting as vertical and/or horizontal dark lines and eventually becomes a dark grid). The image on the left below shows this effect during a zoom. Note the size of the view area as shown on the right-hand side of the image. When the artifacts appear, the image is about 1 foot per pixel.
  • jslaytonjslayton Moderator, ProFantasy Mapmaker