New, Part 2

Alright.... I'm asking again, because I really really really need help with this. I'm trying to come up with a decent map for my world for my writing. I'm not an artist, I'm not experienced with this program, so I really don't understand all the technical talk, and the user guide with all the tutorials really don't help me.

I need some tips for someone who really is... stupid when it comes to figuring this program out.

- Tricks with mountains
- Tricks with tracing. Tracing is broken for me. I try and trace, and rather then getting the part I want, it auto-traces the whole map EXCEPT for what I wanted to trace
- What size should I do for a big continent, what size is good for a region in relation, and so on?
- Trees. Should I do the fills for the trees, or should I populate them myself

Why is it I can't find the more brown/deserty looking mountains, when I can access them from the symbol set on the tutorial map?

Finally, where can I find winter terrain? I need a tundra looking area.

Thanks! This is all a bit frustrating. I'm incompetent at this, but I can't afford to just hire a cartographer to make my map lol.

Comments

• I had the same problem with tracing. The trick is you have to click points in a clockwise direction (or was it counter clockwise, I forget). But that should solve the issue for you.
  • I use 'polygon' on the right side of CC3 to fairly closely flllow the shore. But I make little effort to be exact. i have a template with various bitmap fills to make the contours with.
  • .... I still need help with my other questions, because as it is, every attempt I make is horrible.
  • JimPJimP 🖼️ 280 images Cartographer
    edited April 2011
    Create a fill style entry in a template you are using.

Go over to the FS on the upper right of CC3. Click on it.

You now have a Fill Style Properties popup. Click on Bitmap fills.

Click on New. Give it a name, Ice.