Complete Novice's Questions about existing maps

Although I've used CC2 for many years I just can't get "into" CC3 at all. My main problem concerns the copying of my existing maps - both hand-drawn & those drawn with CC2.

First, is it possible to scan a hand-drawn map into CC3 as a background layer (if so, how?) and then use it to construct a new CC3 map based upon the hand-drawn detail? I simply can't see how this could be done. (This was fairly easy to do with CC2, but I can't find anything in the "Help" files that explains the process with CC3).

Second, if I convert a CC2 map to CC3, it just looks the same to me, so how does converting a map help? Can I use all the tools & symbols from CC3 with converted maps? For example, how do I add a CC3 map style to a converted CC2 map (i.e. CC3 Standard Overland) or can't the CC3 tools & symbols be used on my converted CC2 maps?

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    Posted By: Old FritzFirst, is it possible to scan a hand-drawn map into CC3 as a background layer (if so, how?) and then use it to construct a new CC3 map based upon the hand-drawn detail? I simply can't see how this could be done. (This was fairly easy to do with CC2, but I can't find anything in the "Help" files that explains the process with CC3).
    This is the same in CC3 as in CC2.
    - Scan the map to an image file
    - Use Draw -> Insert File to insert the file into your drawing. You'll probably want to create a dedicated sheet to hold this image, and place it at the top of the sheet list. This ensures that everything you draw end up on top of the image.
    - Then use the CC3 drawing tools to draw on top of your map, manually tracing it. At certain points of the process, you may wish to hide some of the layers, for example to hide the landmass you drew, so that you can see the details on the image below when placing forests, roads, mountains and so on.