Cutting a zoomed in map?

A newbie here,

Is there an easier way to "cut" a zoomed in portion of your landmass than is explained here: http://forum.profantasy.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=927&page=1#Item_18. I'm hoping there's been an update for CC3 since 2009 (when this discussion was posted). The tutorial mentioned there looks intimidating for this rookie map-maker.

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Comments

• First method: 'Save as' and select 'rectangular section'. You can it as bmp, jpg, or png.

Type in the filename, click okay, Click the mouse on your map upper left corner, click on bottom lower right corner, release mouse. Done.

Second method is to zoom in, and draw a new map border. Freezing and hiding layers, remove anything outside the new map border. Done.
  • Thanks for the reply. And forgive me if these are stupid questions--I'm a little slow:

First method, I saved as you suggested; however, I'm finding that it simply saves the file as a zoomed in map section which is still just a copy of the previous map (i.e. I zoom out and its the big map again...and if I print it's still the BIG map). What I'm trying to do is make a small section copy so I can work with THAT in detail and print out--basically, I'm creating a new map with more detail).

Second method, can you tell me how to draw a new map border? I can't find the command, and the HELP section only talks about political borders.

Appreciate the help!
  • MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    Posted By: halftardSecond method, can you tell me how to draw a new map border? I can't find the command, and the HELP section only talks about political borders.
    A map border is simply an entity on the "MAP BORDER" layer. There is no special way to do it, a regular rectangle will do it.
    If you want a "pretty" border, you can just resize the existing map border with the Scale [SCA] command. Just remember to thaw the "Map BORDER" layer first, to be able to work with it.