Family Man with a technical background and enthusiastic world builder kids.

Hi guys,

Just picked up the humble bundle pack the other day (also got the FGU pack). My kids, 9 and 6, love sourcebooks and I got my son (5) a ton of dungeon tiles, arcknights, etc for his birthday and he is in love with his tabletop worldbuilding even more.

He's been very hype about RPG maker, and other WYSIWYG tools, and I was hoping that this would be a good avenue to expand his technical skills. Both kids are very enthusiastic about the acquisition of this software, but after watching multiple tutorial videos, they were very clear that they just don't understand it or how to begin. I realize they are not the target audience, but I also think that based on their experience with other software that they are representative of casual users in a sense.

I have extensive professional experience with multiple CAD, CAM, and graphic editing software packages, and I have been digging in to see how I could help them and understand the software myself. I think I can see how it developed the way it did, but I would offer a few pieces of harsh, but constructive criticism.

* The selection model is TERRIBLE. It is hard to know when you are in selection mode and what is selectable (Autocad style problem), it is hard to locate the selection point for common items (inkscape style problem), and the lack of a clear path to select and then choose your action is still a problem I'm digging through the manuals on. The right click "do it" option was hard to locate, reminds me of bad CAD/CAM software, and often seems to fail mysteriously. Diving into the manual and I'm offered options like layer tag filtering. Bro I just want to pick the dang hillfort I just placed. Right click, no option to select. Really? Right click twice and I'm accidentally placing symbols instead of looking for options.