Having trouble installing CA 200 Inked Ruins

Apparently my computer updated itself and Windows Shield is now dominant over my regular virus software. And I don't know how to switch it back. Anyway, it won't let me install Inked Ruins for some reason. It says there is something wrong with the identification code or something. Even when I try installing with "Run as Administrator" it not only fails to install, it also deletes the CA 200 file from my computer. Out of sight or mind, I guess. The Microsoft protection program ignores my entry when I click the option to "Run Anyway."

I'm not a programmer and I don't understand what I need to do to correct the problem. I certainly don't want to have it refuse to install any more monthly issues of the Annual. Who knows what else it might refuse to do? Talk about machines taking over.

Is anyone else having this kind of issue with installation? Or can anyone offer me any course of action to take to correct the problem?

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    edited August 2023

Yes, this annual issue was not code-signed in the rush to leave for Gen Con, so windows will be a little fussy at installation. Ralf said he would fix it when he got back. I don't know if he already has, but in the meantime if you are talking about Windows Defender you can override that fuss. It's perfectly safe - just unsigned.

EDIT: I just downloaded it again myself. It looks like Ralf has updated it if you want to download it again.

I use Windows Defender myself. As long as you right click the installer and pick Run as Administrator it should be ok.

ElflingJimP
  • @Loopysue

Thanks Sue. That did the trick. I'm not exactly sure what code signed is or does, but whatever Ralf did made my computer happy.

Loopysue
  • @Ralf