CA63 - Cliffs coming up broken

Hi everyone

I'm really new to Campaign Cartographer, the whole process of getting to grips on it has been... interesting.

I'm trying to draw a map for a hex crawl for the Dark Souls RPG. Because the crawl is going to take place across the tops of a couple levelled limestone cliffs, I was thinking I'd use the city cliffs style from the 2020 annual (C64), as it'd make my life easier.

I'm following the annual tutorial, but I'm running into issues on the very first step. Namely, the cliffs appear as fragments:

What am I doing wrong? I've tried simpler shapes and it doesn't seem to make a difference. I've checked I'm on the right sheet.

Apologies if this has been asked to death, or if I'm doing something dumb!

Thanks and regards

Best Answer

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 40 images Cartographer
    Accepted Answer

The cliffs only work in imperial maps. Since most mappers seem to use imperial this wasn't realised until long after the release. Unfortunately I have tried my hardest to get connecting symbols to work in metric maps, but have only succeeded with symbols that have no actual corners in them, like the hedges and walls in Darklands City (2021 annual). The cliff symbols are mostly corners. That is where the symbol is designed to take the line around a corner of a specified angle.

You can use them if you increase the default symbol scale to 1 from 0.3048 in the drawing properties dialog (top bar button)

Remember to return this to 0.3048 once the cliffs are done or all your other symbols will be too small.

The disadvantage of doing it that way is that the cliffs may look a bit too small and more like a stone ridge than a cliff.

Alternatively, try using an imperial template instead.

Dreadguacamole

Answers

Accepted Answer