Returning beginner: how to change fill angles and fix fill scaling?

I'm a returning beginner. The new Humble Bundle included a few add-ons I was missing, so I decided to make a second attempt to learn how to use CC3+. Unfortunately, I'm encountering the same problems that stifled my progress last year. After searching through the .chm help files, manual, these forums, and the YouTube channel, I think its time to ask for help. If anyone would be willing to assist, perhaps it would help other beginners such as myself.

When attempting to make a room with a floor, there seems to be at least four ways to do this. I can't get any of them to produce a pattern at the correct angle and/or zoom behavior.

1) The "add room" command includes a floor fill option. When using this, the fill renders identically at all zoom levels, and always with a 0 degree rotation.

2) I can create a room without a floor background fill, then use the "floor" command. This creates a floor with fixed scaling at all zoom levels, but is again fixed at a 0 degree angle.

3) I can draw a floor using fractal polygons from a symbol catalog. This method handles zooming and rotation, at least for square shapes. I don't know how to reproduce this with my own fill patterns unless they come preloaded in the symbol catalog.

4) I can draw a polygon manually. As with the 1st method, I can't get zooming or the angle to work as expected. When I attempt to use the "shaded polygon" or "shaded polygon (angle by edge)", it seems to erase the fill pattern I select.

Comments

• galikgalik Traveler

5) It seems that some styles have flooring as true symbols. Using the "dracula dossier" style as an example, I can't figure out how to get these to render at all.

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer

When using this, the fill renders identically at all zoom levels