Live Mapping: Herwin Wielink Isometric Dungeons

LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer

Hi Everyone :)

This week, Ralf will taking another walk through an older Cartographer's Annual issue: the Herwin Wielink Isometric Dungeons style from the 2012 CA, by creating an isometric floorplan without using Perspectives 3.

You can watch it here:

Or you can join us on YouTube and join in the chat:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psS_Hotq7b4

JimPScottA

Comments

• Hurrah ! I don't have to make one of these.

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
  • I'm looking for inspiration from GMs: Did anyone use an isometric map during a game? and if so, how? Just as a handout/visualization tool for the players? or during an online session as a battlemap? Or in a different way?

I'm occasionally a GM for my group, but I'm not really good with using maps. I mostly make/use battlemaps, but I never made other maps, so I'd love to hear about ideas from you

• I don’t GM but I’m working on a set of maps for a guy at work and will use this style to help him understand how the escape route maps go together. It will be a series of maps for his party to leave the dungeon they will be in with stairs between each encounter area.

Fersus
  • MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer

Personally, I've just used them as visual aids and planning aids (but then again, that's what I use most of the maps for). Isometric isn't the best for battle maps, but at least in my world, battle maps are in the minority anyway, illustrations and planning tools are much more important, and for that, isometric gives a very nice easy to understand view of the place.

One I used recently was an outside view of a ruin

JulianDracosLoopysueFersus
  • I learned a few new tricks. Unfortunately, I'll have to download the video as I got distracted.