[WIP] August Competition - House within city

I decided to join the August Competition though I am a complete beginner to Campaign Cartographer. This entry will be my first real map, so don't expect anything fancy here. So far I've learned how to navigate catalogs, create blank maps of various styles, and perform basic operations such as selecting an element.

For this entry, I will be creating a small house within the city walls of Vertshusen from the community atlas. I have not yet decided who lives here or what their occupation might be. My initial goal is to construct the outline of a house with hyperlinks between floors.

LoopysueRicko Hasche

Comments

• galikgalik Traveler
    edited August 2022

Today I was able to construct the outline of a two-story house which matches the dimensions and orientation of of the building as shown on the city map. I used the "Cities of Shley" map style, though I am not sure whether this matters. I constructed the walls using features of Dungeon Designer, and experimented with item selection and the 'move' and 'rotate' actions until I was able to position it correctly.

The floor texture is not oriented correctly. I recently watched a live mapping video from someone where they corrected this, and will have to do the same after reviewing that video. Despite the modest appearance, this is an achievement for me. It took me several attempts before I figured out how to draw a map like this centered on the interior of a building. I'm pleased with the 'hyperlink' feature which allows me to jump to a different map by clicking on a hot zone.

Loopysueroflo1
  • LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    edited August 2022

Hello galik, and welcome to the competition :)