Starting dimensions

eello!

This is my first time reaching out so please be gentle everyone. I've been dabbling on and off with CC3+ for a good while now but whenever I start I seem to hit the same snag: It asks me togive dimensions of the area I'm mapping.

I can see why that would be extremely useful: No worrying about scale or nothing of the sort. The thing is, I've got no idea what the dimensions for any given map should be. A map of the world? Continental level map? City map? Town map? Dungeon/encounter battle map? No clue.

Are there some rules of thumb to help someone like me, who has extremely hard time visualizing distances, to figure out what values to punch in when starting a map.

Your help is much appreciated!

-Nar

roflo1

Answers

• The dimensions can be anything. They primarily determine the scale of the symbols since most of the styles will scale automatically based on the dimensions you select. It also matters in the sense of if you want an accurate sized map. Finally it gives the aspect ratio for the map.

While you have to put in numbers, they can represent anything - inches, feet, miles, etc. So a 1000x800 map could be feet, yards, or miles.

If you are just learning the program, then I suggest you just leave them at the default value and play around. Once you learn the program, then you can start to decide on what the values should be.

If you have some of the annuals, they come with a PDF file explaining how to make a map in that style. They usually tell you what size they are using. That can also provide a guide.

LoopysueJimProflo1
  • If you're struggling to work out the general sizes of things as a whole, you might find it useful to look through some real-world maps, like an atlas, a map of your local area and your own town, for instance. That should give you some ideas about the amount of detail visible on different area-sizes of map.