Is Save as svg possible?

Hi folks!

I've been asked for an svg export of my dune map, and while I did find out that that's a scalable vector graphic file and I see that this should be possible (after all we do get all the coordinates if we look at the list of an entity) I did not see a "save as svg" option, but maybe I just didn't recognise it as I'm new to this file format...

Comments

• I don't think you can export a file as an SVG directly from CC3+. The topics covering SVGs on the Forum have mostly concentrated on converting SVG files to something that can be used in CC3+, for instance. It should be possible to take one of CC3+'s graphic exports (JPG, BMP or PNG) and convert that to an SVG file however. Not sure if that will be suitable for what you need, but there are free SVG converters online to try.

• I am not sure it would be any better than conversion from PNG to SVG, but you can save in one of the autocad formats. Then, open it using autocad or similar program. Then you can save the file as a SVG.

• jslaytonjslayton Moderator, ProFantasy Mapmaker

CC3+ doesn't directly support SVG output. As JulianDracos suggests, saving as a DWG and then converting to SVG will keep the basic vector nature of the entities, but the fills and sheet effects will be lost. Printing to a PDF will generate an image and save it in PDF format, so that's perhaps not particularly useful, despite the number of PDF to SVG converters and even SVG printer drivers.

roflo1
  • I see. As we are primarely interested in the borders of the areas to be highlighted in the web-app the dwg to svg route should work. I'll have to find a CAD programm capable of converting these though.

Related question: Is there a way to export the informations we get from the list command? that was my first idea, but I couldn't find it either. It's probably not necessary anymore but I'd like to know just out of curiosity.

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer