How do you remove the outline of imported symbols?

Hi! I'm still very new to Campaign Cartographer and I'm still wrapping my head around it; I wanted to reach out and see if anyone can help me.

I'm currently creating a castle dungeon using Dungeon Designer, and I have been using some other symbols/PNG's that I have found; I have imported these/dragged and dropped them onto the map. I wanted to send a progress update to some people, however, all of my imported symbols have an outline, based on the colour palette selection when I imported them. Example below.

Is there a way to remove this? Currently, when I have my floor sheet visible, there are boxes around everything I've imported. Any help is appreciated!

Best Answer

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    edited November 2021 Accepted Answer

Dragging and dropping an image into CC3+ is the equivalent of doing a Draw -> insert image, but it skips the dialog box. Unfortunately, this also means it skips the dialog where you can turn off the border, and uses the default which is applying a border to inserted images.

You can turn this off by using Numeric Edit on the images, and turn on the hide outline option. Unfortunately, this can only be used on one image at a time (Don't worry about the purple selection rectangle this operation seems to leave behind, that goes away the next time you select something else)

The better way to insert symbols to avoid this in the first place is to do as Raiko suggested, and use the Open Symbol Catalog button and browse for your folder. This will show all the images in that folder in the symbol catalog window, and you can insert them the same way as regular symbols.

If this is symbols you are going to use often, the even better option is to make proper CC3+ symbol catalogs for them. This allows you to set up scaling and things correctly in the symbols themselves, so you don't have to re-scale every image inserted, among other things.

bboxerScottAroflo1