WIP: Egyptian Floral Motif Column

I have been learning Blender with the intent of making some Perspectives or orthographic view mapping symbols. I am new to the software so it took me about 2 weeks to get to the point where I could produce the first model. You will notice that it isn't textured yet. The material making process in the next thing I'll be studying.

LoopysueMonsenJimPTraveller

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    edited May 2021

There is a useful tut here on how to set up isometric camera angles, which are the angles you will need to render your new objects so that they work with Per3. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YycYkyxwHr4

You will need to render the same object from 4 different angles. There is a section of the Tome that describes how to make Perspectives symbols on page 450.

I use Blender myself occasionally, and in fact I have done so for the rocks to go with Marine Dungeon. But I find that most of what I make is almost too real and too sharp without at least a bit of post processing most of the time. Bear in mind that not even the more 'photorealistic' fantasy map styles are really all that photographic. I often mess around adjusting the rendered output from Blender in apps like GIMP or Affinity Photo (a really good and much more affordable alternative to PS) to dumb things down a bit - soften the sharpness, give things a more hand drawn feel.

EDIT: And there I go again - so intent on getting the details right that I forgot to compliment your work. Good stuff! Modelling can be tricky.

• edited May 2021