I can't change the thickness of my walls?

Hi, I am new to Campaign Cartographer v3 and this community as a whole, but I feel that I am learning pretty well. Sometimes I hit a roadblock, but I am able to find the solution eventually.

With this, I have no idea, and I am sure the solution is very simple. I am making a maze, but for some reason, I cannot decrease the width of my walls. They are permanently stuck in the same dimensions.

Any change I make to the width literally nothing happens. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I would really appreciate the help, and I hope this doesn't seem like too stupid of a question >_<

Answers

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer

Not stupid. Don't worry.

First, by the look of the drawing it may be way too small. A map unit in a dungeon map represents 1 foot, so you may need to scale up that maze you are tracing before you go much further, so that there is a nice 5ft pathway, rather than one that looks more like about 1 or 2 foot. That will also help when you come to place symbols in the maze later on, since all the symbols at their default scale are set up to be the right size - as long as you have observed the 1 map unit per foot rule with the rest of the map.

Then, if you want walls that will fit nicely between the 5ft pathways without taking up a huge amount of room themselves I suggest clicking the New button in that dialog, making yourself a new Wall, Cobble, 0.5 drawing tool and then clicking the Properties button and setting the line width to 0.5. Ok and save your way out of that, and you should have a decent wall drawing tool to suit the purpose.

If you are unsure how to scale your trace image up to fit the scale of 1 map unit = 1 foot just shout, and we will explain.

tofukiller
  • Thank you!