Building Interiors on CC3+ Maps

I searched and did not find this in the forums, I apologize if its already asked and answered.

I am looking to build a fantasy city map in the style of the classical Neverwinter City map by Schley. However, I am intending to blow up the scale in order to be able to use the city map to generate smaller sub-maps for use with a virtual table top.

What I really need to do is be able to draw the housing with entities that are smart enough to be shown "with roof" and "without roof" when extracted to a png or other static file type. Is that functionality that is supported by CC3+, or is what I am looking to do too "off topic" for the CC3 engine?

I already have purchased a large assortment of the CC3 content, specifically CC3+, City & Dungeon Designer, Perspectives, and both of the Schley templates.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

Tagged:

Answers

• EogenEogen Newcomer

I'll also add that I am a complete Newb, and am slowly working my way through the novel by "Manuel", and the intro youtube videos, but I also don't want to invest a lot of time learning a steep-learning curve tool that won't, in the end, do what I am trying to do.

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer

City styles aren't really made for showing interior details, so it doesn't work like that by default.

However,there isn't anything preventing you from drawing building interiors, and then but the building sheet on top of them. So, with the building sheet visible, it will cover up the floorplans and look like a normal city, and with the building sheet hidden, you will see the floor plans. All you need to do is to set up proper sheets to draw your floor plans on, and import the required fill styles into your map.