Bug with symbols casting shadows? (DD3)

Hello, I'm very new to CC3+, having just picked it up in the humble bundle recently. I've found myself rather bothered by trying to set up a point light setup for a cave battle map I'm working on. I was able to get the lights working for the walls in the cave, but despite using the same setup for the elements like pillars and tables, they don't appear to be casting any shadows!

I have attached my in progress image, if anyone would take a look and see if they can help me, I would really appreciate it. I would hate to have to put down the software because I feel like it's just not working for me right now. The one where it should be really obvious is the pillar in the top right of my image. It should be casting a shadow down and to the left, but it does not.

Thank you!

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer

Several things here.

There was nothing on the WALLS sheet to stop the light going outside the cave, so I copied the floor to the WALLS sheet and gave the polygon a line width of 1ft to make it a wall rather than a floor.

The WALLS sheet had to be below the LIGHTS sheet, so that it was part of the lit scene and could stop the light coming out of the cave. I moved it up the list to make this true. Unfortunately, I don't know where your entrance is, so you will need to cut one out of the wall or redraw the wall.

The effects were set up ok, but the column was on the LIGHTS sheet, and not the SYMBOLS TALL sheet. That's why it wasn't casting any shadow.

I may have tweaked other things while I was messing around getting it to work, but I tried not to.

You now have a new problem I'm not sure how to cure. The lights are casting rays in the shadows. I think @Monsen might be able to help you with that one. Here is the FCW I produced from yours.

mcg197