Fractal Terrain 3 beginner

I was playing around with settings just to see what different things do after watching a tutorial on creating my first world. I have changed a setting that made my maps appear, well.. like this.

Basically I was wondering if there is a way to restore the default settings of the program. I have completely uninstalled and tried reinstalling to a different location, yet still the settings are not what they were when I first installed the program. I just want to get back to the basic appearance. I have no idea what I did to make it appear like this. I am completely new to mapping, but it is something that has piqued my interest for a long time.

If anyone can help with this, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer

Hi PsiDragon :)

The map is currently showing in Gaia mode. There are several different views available under the Map menu. All you have to do to get back to the Altitude view (the actual default) is to pick that one from the same menu, or hit SHIFT+A.

• PsiDragonPsiDragon Newcomer
    edited December 2020

Thanks for the response, LoopySue!

So, when I create a new map, this is what it looks like. Is this the actual default? I don't seem to recall it appearing this way on my first go-around.

I know I can change the roughness to get rid of a lot of the "noise" on the map, but it still seems ... "off" ... somehow.

I have tried all the different views (elevation, climate, etc.) and none of them seem to even remotely resemble what I started out with.

I'm just confused as to what settings have changed that I can't change back, and why they don't reset when I uninstall and reinstall the program.

edited December 2020

Ok. It looks like you've been having some fun with the World Settings.

Open the World settings and the Selection tab. Pick the Default, and click Load, then Apply. You should see the default world appear right before your eyes.