CC3 wont let me draw anything outside of a square that covers a small part of my map pls help

Im new to this but everything worked perfectly till now. For some reason i cannot draw any land, river, anything outside of this square (i can draw on the other part of the triangle ). The grid is disabled, snap is also off and i dont know what else i should do.

i put a lot of work into this file and really dont want to abandon it. can anyone help please?

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer

What happens here is that CC3+'s drawing tools are set to stop at the map border, and the map border itself is identified by entities on the MAP BORDER layer. What has happened here is that you have somehow gotten some extra entities on that layer, which basically redefines the map border.

Open up the layers dialog by clicking on the L: indicator in the status bar. Hide all layers except MAP BORDER. It should now be quite obvious which entities do not belong here. The map border itself should normally just be a thin outline around your map, there shouldn't be anything in the middle. Now either Erase the offending entities, or just use Change Properties to move them to another layer.

Arkane
  • LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    edited December 2020

No need to abandon it. We can sort it out.

First, open your layers dialog by clicking once where it says L:MINERALS/MOUNTAINS in your image above. Select the MAP BORDER layer, and hide all the rest of them. Then click apply.