Quenten Walker

I guess many of you know me already. I am 70 this year, and have made maps, fantasy worlds and fantasy histories ever since I read Tolkien at age 12.

I am a retired Associate Professor in Oncology (in Brisbane Qld, then my last 3 years in Wagga Wagga, a large regional centre in inland NSW), and now live on Flinders Island since 2011, just NE of Tasmania in the Bass strait between Tasmania and mainland Australia.

I have a wonderful view from my computer, and naturally enough, I get distracted easily (this is my excuse for dawdling on various maps)

The pictures are of a map I did of the island in Jon Roberts Style, the view from my desk, my local beach 300 m from where I live, and two of my favourite spots on the island (65x30km). The island sits on the 40th parallel, (our house is just 100 m south of it), and we get wind from Patagonia uninterrupted till it reaches us.

I mainly love world, regional and building maps. I'm a little bit interested in cities too (sarcasm is my forte - as it is for most Aussies).

Keep safe in these trying times.

I Flinders Island SMALL.PNG

1.6M

Sailing boat from Menythmor (1).JPG

1.2M

69430192_909767426057975_3538279511114121216_n.jpg

Sawyers Bay (9) SMALL.jpg

Stackys Bight (26) SMALL.jpg

Now I am retired, I have time to map (my favourite activity), read (SF&F, history, world religions and science), and listen to classical music. I walk my dog almost daily, and like walking on the beach, feeling the lovely wet sand between my toes (call out to you, Remy). Unfortunately, I suffer from depression, and can finish up doing nothing much for days. However, I do have a lot of support, both on the island, and from Facebook friends.