Remy Monsen

MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
edited September 2020 in Introductions

Remy Monsen here, hailing from the cold shores of the Icy North. Well, something like that anyway, depending on your own location.

Born back in 1976, I am currently 44 years old (and since I am going to forget to update this, I leave it to you to calculate the new value based on my birth year as time goes on). Currently (and always has been) living in the city of Bergen on the west coast of Norway.

I am mostly an IT-guy, and having been that since my young days. I got my first computer when I was about 8, a Commodore 64, and I was immediately in love with what you could do with a computer once you learned how to program on it. Most of my work and studies through the years have been IT-related. Among other things, I was an officer in the Royal Norwegian Navy for 7 years, managing and supporting IT systems. And now I am an Assistant Professor at Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, teaching stuff like networking and software development.

I first got interested in the ProFantasy products during the 90's when looking at the ads in Dragon magazine, I was so mesmerized over how good that looked compared to my hand drawn attempts (drawing is NOT my strong suit), and I needed maps for my RPG campaign which I DM'ed. Well, they where too expensive for a penniless high-schooler back then, and my computer was an Amiga 500, while the ProFantasy stuff required a PC, so it wasn't really available for me back then. I do remember getting more and more enticed by it as the ads started to expand, and then showed up in color.