[WIP, Feedback Requested] Practice by mapping Glorantha

A few weeks ago, I started learning CC3+ by reading the manual and doing tutorials. I also decided that I was going to practice by trying to make a map of Maniria, a relatively out of the way part of the RPG setting Glorantha that is about 700 km across.

The resulting map is, IMHO, a bit busy, but I'm not 100% sure how to improve it. I'm literally so new to CC3+ still, I don't know how to identify what I'm doing wrong lol. So.... I humbly request any comments at all. What isn't working? Why isn't it working? What would work better?

Thanks in advance.

[Deleted User]LoopysueJimPWyvern

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer

That's an excellent first map, Nevermet!

I look on it as interesting and absorbing more than crowded.

The problem is that I would ideally want a map where you can quickly identify the communities (especially those in the center of the map), the rivers, and the trade route. I'm still working on how to emphasize those things.

Also, for reference, here is the map I'm building from. It is from 6 pages that I stitched together in GIMP:

Now, for each individual page, that map works fine. But trying to take it all in with this level of detail is a bit much. Beyond just practice, I wanted to work on making a map that was more "readable" at this scale, assuming it would all be on a screen at once, or possibly printed out.

I guess I should have said that, but I didn't fully realize it: I want certain details (especially settlements, rivers, & roads) to be easily readable while looking at the entire map. Also, I want a pony lol

• jslaytonjslayton Moderator, ProFantasy Mapmaker

The art of cartography is abstraction. Showing just the details that are important for the purpose of the map and the medium in which it's done is tough work and takes a lot of practice.

Nevermetjonasgreenfeather
  • edited April 2021