New Oxtail - WIP

I've started to convert some of my old hand drawn maps - this is my first attempt at a city (okay 2nd, but we're not going to talk about that one). I already plan to rework the buildings on the cliff top, but my question of the day - any suggestions on how to treat the mountain. The shift in the angle of perspective is my specific irritant. Played around with x/y co-ordinates, but no luck......

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    edited February 2021

There are several ways of doing the mountain. It depends how important it is to the map and how much time you want to take in creating it.

The quick and easy way is to use one or more sheets with a large and slightly smoothed "Bevel, Lighted" sheet effect, followed by an Edge Fade Inner sheet effect, and possibly a Blend Mode to blend the feet of the mountain into the flat ground. On that sheet you draw the extent of your mountain. I recommend using one of the transparent Solid fills, or a solid fill with transparency added in the Blend Mode.

The more detailed way that takes a lot longer is to actually draw the thing with lines and patches of shading on the darker side.

I will let you chose before I gallop off down a detailed description of either, or maybe someone else has an even better idea. There are always many ways of doing a thing in CC3.

JimP
  • When I did contour maps in cc3, I used different color bitmaps for a range of altitudes. It was very tedious. I eventually stopped doing that.

So it was zero to 1500 feet, then 1501 to 2500 feet, etc.

• Thanks for the input - Sue, can we try the simple approach? I dont have a graphics background and usually have to work through everything several times. Appreciated!

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer

Ok.

First, add a new sheet called something logical, like MOUNTAIN

Then load the transparent fills if they aren't already in the map. (Tools->Import bitmap fill styles)