Vincula, the City of the Mountaingate

DriechelDriechel Traveler

Howdy. The other post I was using was beginning to feel increasingly inaccurate, so I decided to change things over to this one.

I'm a newbie to this software who decided his first big challenge should be to make an entire city. Not the best plan, I know, but here we all are.

You can find the rest of the discussion leading up to this point here: https://forum.profantasy.com/discussion/10832/how-to-add-large-symbols-to-a-city-map#latest

Today's technical issue (so far) is a combination of making the ocean look like it moves from shallow to deep (light outside, darker outside) while also getting the river feeding into the ocean to blend properly. It's not an easy move so far, and I just managed to get the river and ocean to play relatively nice by moving the ocean (a flat plane of Bitmap A Water 3) so it's on top of the river. Unfortunately, now it looks like that's made all the other choices a bit harder, as every visual effect I try to put on the water doesn't hold. The only reason it has the regular water glow is because I copy-pasted those directly from the river, and yes, I tried to copy-paste a working example of something like inner glow and it didn't quite work out.

Any tips on how to get this to work?

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer

Hi Driechel :)

The only way to really make it work is to put the ocean above the land, and put all the water on the same sheet, whether it is river or ocean. If that river is going to be a major feature of your map it might be worth drawing it as an extension of the sea, rather than an additional line with a width. That will help even more.

As for sheet effects, a light shore can be created by having a paler blue glow set to inner on the water sheet. Deeper water can be added a couple of different ways, but I'll not get too far ahead of where you are just yet.