Just to share info & photos about us so we get to know each other as people

Hi, fellow cartographers profantastique!
This is a thread where we can share any personal info, including photos of our home, work, town etc, even pets, and horror... of ourselves.
BUT... NO religion, No politics, and No sex!
Humour is mandatory, niceness is compulsory, and friendship is contagious.
Social distancing is offered as a complementary supplement to all participants.

Comments

• I guess many of you know me already. I am 70 this year, and have made maps, fantasy worlds and fantasy histories ever since I read Tolkien at age 12.
    I am a retired Associate Professor in Oncology, and live on Flinders Island, just NE of Tasmania in the Bass strait between Tasmania and mainland Australia.
    I have a wonderful view from my computer, and naturally enough, I get distracted easily (this is my excuse for dawdling on various maps)
    The pictures are of a map I did of the island in Jon Roberts Style, the view from my desk, my local beach 300 m from where I live, and 2 favourite spots on the island (65x30km). The island sits on the 40th parallel, (our house is just 100 m south of it), and we het wind from Patagonia uninterrupted till it reaches us.

I mainly love world, regional and building maps. I;m a little bit interested in cities too. Sarcasm is my forte - as it is for most Aussies.
    Keep safe in these trying times.
  • ScottAScottA Surveyor
    What a lovely place. I'm envious!
  • LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    Hi all!

My real name is Sue Daniel, and I was born into a family of scientists, doctors, mathematicians, coders and surgeons. I have Asperger's Syndrome, which is a type of autism, and probably accounts for why I am so very different to the rest of the family.