Tome of Ultimate Mapping vs User Manual/Essentials

Greetings everyone!

I am new to mapping with CC3+, having used Fractal Mapper before (vers 6 and 7). I purchased the Tome of Ultimate Mapping, and after looking through it and the CC3+ user manual, I'm left curious if I should skip the user manual and just go with the Tome?

Love this program, and mapping in general, and can't wait to learn more!

Daisho

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    edited April 2019
    Welcome.

I recommend you start with the User Manual. The Tome do repeat some of the more important things, but generally, it assumes you are already familiar with the user manual.
  • Thank you!

Now to read (a lot!), and practice!
  • MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    edited April 2019
    Posted By: DaishoChikaraNow to read (a lot!), and practice!
    Sounds like a good way to get started. Especially in combination with each other :)
  • LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    Hello Daisho :)

Welcome to the forum :D

I agree with Monsen - the user manual is the best way to start. It covers the basics so you get a good foundation.
  • Howdy and welcome to the forums !
  • 11 months later
  • This is from the Tome of Ultimate Mapping:
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Difficulty level

This tome is written with an intermediate CC3+ user in mind. It assumes a basic familiarity with the
    CC3+ manual, although some of the important topics from the manual are repeated in this book.
    You will find the CC3+ section of the book, particularly the beginning of this section tends to be a
    detailed description of each step in the tutorial, both to refresh the memory of experienced users,
    and to serve as an introduction to the concepts for beginners. As you progress through the book
    you will find the tutorials expect you to know how to perform the basic tasks in CC3+. New