Help with designing a house with DD3

Now, I fully admit I'm not very good with CC3 and its add-ons; but I'm finding it extremely difficult to design something that seems to me should be quite simple. I spent days learning how to use the software over the summer, then didn't touch it again for months and seem to have forgotten everything I learnt from those Sweeney videos.

I'm trying to put together a large, spooky house. I'm a teacher and using it as an example of what I want the pupils to do. (Design a spooky setting, describe it, etc...) However, using DD3 I'm finding it tricky to connect the various rooms of the house together. The walls overlap, and the 'C' command doesn't come up for rooms. Will overlapping walls, inserting doors doesn't work correctly, and half the time the wall cutter doesn't seem to do anything.

Any suggestions? If it was twisty corridors between dungeon chambers I think I'd be okay, but the whole room-side-by-room thing is confounding me.

Cheers,
Mike

Comments

• jaerdaphjaerdaph Traveler
    edited January 2009
    Take a look at the vampire's castle floorplan I did:

http://forum.profantasy.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=654

I didn't use the drawing tools in DD3 to make the walls. The thicker outer walls are a multipoly of an outer and inner set of lines/paths/arcs (and note they don't overlap into the 5' tile grid) of zero width. Once I had the multipoly (which was now essentially a hollow fill style polygon), I changed the fill style to a "solid" bitmap fill of grey stone. The inner walls, on the other hand, are lines/paths of 1'-0" width (and note they DO overlap the 5' tile grid) with the bitmap fill of grey stone.

Edit: This is easier to see in the version of my map with the sheet effects off.