Enaria

Hello fellow mappers,
I've been working on a regional map for a campaign setting and have included a link below. It's not done by any stretch - lots to do. Seems like maps are never quite done :-) It is a roughly 750mi x 550mi section from a 1000mi x 800mi map.

I know there are quite a few things wrong with it (rivers/roads don't go where they 'should', some effects like the outer glow on the landmass look harsher in the exported version than in CC3+, missing bridges, etc, etc).

It isn't necessarily supposed to be 'accurate' or 'realistic' - I was aiming for a bit more of a whimsical/fantasy effect and one that had an overall visual appeal.

The file is a PNG and is about 63MB. When viewed in Windows Image Viewer or a browser it looks quite blurry as if compressed (more than PNG). Best viewed after downloading and opening in a paint program (even MS Paint is fine).

http://www.filedropper.com/ap1

Hope the link works as this is my first attempt at uploading a file for sharing. That link seems oddly quite short...but seems to work for me.

Thanks!
-Mike

Comments

• DogtagDogtag Moderator, Betatester Traveler
    edited February 2015
    *is humbled*

Wow! That's gorgeous! What a fantastic use of the new Schley Overland style. So many things to like about that map, but one of the small things that stood out big for me was the "sunken" effect you gave to the roads and rivers. How did you do that, may I ask? I love the lay of the land and the variety of settlement and building symbols you used. Also, bravo on your names. Just... wow.

Thanks for sharing!
    ~Dogtag
  • I'll echo Dogtag: that map is gorgeous.
  • RalfRalf Administrator, ProFantasy 🖼️ 18 images Mapmaker
    edited February 2015
    That map is much too nice not to be displayed on the forum. Hope you don't mind that I post a scaled down version and a detail map here. If you prefer otherwise, let me know.
  • * is speechless *