[WIP] - Les chroniques de Mô - first sight on map

Hi,

I would like to have some comments on my new map. Many details are still missing, but I think it is a good start.
Amguen opmen is the desert land in Asmô country where my book takes place.

Thank you.

Amguen opmen photo Amguen opmen_zpsgvkdvcvs.jpg

Comments

• Very nice work! Where did you get the compass symbol in the lower left?
  • It is a self-made symbole. A compass with three directions in a world directed by the number 3 ! The letters are from their alphabet named asmopil.
    And thank you. What do you think I can improve ?
  • I'm only a beginner, myself, but (to me) the five areas of hill country in the north seem a bit too symmetrical (like the pips on the five-face of a d6) and the edges of the forest of Tchare are too even. One to three individual trees added each to the west, east, and south sides should help. BUt these are minor quibbles in what is a really nice effort.
  • GatharGathar Traveler
    I really like this map. the textures and colours look really soft and nice.
    Some small elements are however disturbing me:
    - I don't understand why the desert is a desert. It's surrounded by fertile land in all directions, and I don't see what natural feature prevents the water from propagating inside.
    - You have several cities that are just on the map border. Usually, when you make a map, cities are a major point of interest for the map users. So I believe that if a city is naturally placed right on the map border, the map maker would probably change something to make the city appear in full (change the scale, add a side paper attached to the main paper, just lie about the city position...)
    - The trees at the bottom stop a little bit too abruptly. I think it would be better if they continued and were split by the map border (just the opposite of my previous advice). This effect is also strong on the bottom right.