World Building Advice (World of Almeria)

I'm working on building a world for a fantasy RPG I'm going to be running, and am trying to put together a map for the game. Right now, I'm just getting started mapping and have very little experience with mapping at all, let alone CC3. However, I've got a start to my world map and am going to be seeking advice for making it better along the way, so that I can try to make it look as professional as possible. Any advice is welcome. I've posted an early map with the mountains, most of the major rivers, and a few minor landscapes. It's still got a long way to go, but I'm trying to determine if the mountain ranges look okay at this point (I'm having trouble with the background area - I want it to have a transition effect, so it's not just mountains on the default green, but I'm not sure what I have now looks right either.)

Any advice on that, or other things I've done so far, would be appreciated.

I'll be regularly posting in this thread as I develop more of the map, hoping to get some advice as I go.

Thanks.

Comments

• My first advice would be to resize the left landmass. It's to square and it follow the borders of the map. Try to put it smaller and put some big islands forming a "way". Another point is that I think that you use too much mountain symbols. I would put bigger symbols or remade the layout. Try to put a big chain in the left and then push "arms" of mountains from it, so it feel more natural and fluid.
  • edited April 2012
    What I would advise is that you study the maps here at profantasy in the examples library - and download a few from the Maps and Catalogues libray here at Profantasy also.