Correct Pixel sizes for printing 1 inch battlemap scale

I am quite new to the Cartography scene. I did a search but couldn't find an answer to this question.

I want to produce battlemaps for the new 4th Edition of DnD. I'm limited to printing in A4/A3 so I was hoping someone more experienced would be able to give me pointers on which resolution (lets presume 300dpi) I would need to make sure my grid (square per 5 foot) comes out at an inch square when printed (so it matches the miniatures).

Have I missed an option where I can set the pixel size of the grid? (so each square is 300 pixels squared)

Thanks

Comments

• sdavies2720sdavies2720 Traveler
    edited June 2008
    Korpus, CC works with a map scale rather than a pixel scale. Use the distance function to find two features that should be 5' apart (1" on the final printed map), and when you go into the print menu, select the option to print at fixed scale (I'm not at my home computer so I can't give you the exact label). You have an option to set a paper scale (put in 1") and a map scale (put in what you found from your distance function). If you started from an indoor template, you should be able to put in 5' for the map scale. If you started from an overland template, use whatever the distance function told you.

Steve
  • Thanks for the advice so far, that has put me on the right track. I'm working on 5 foot (which is my grid) equals 1 inch, which should give me the size of grid I am looking for.

At first i tried to plug in Paper distance = 0.08333 and Map Distance = 5.0 I was hoping this would convert the 5' into 1'' (or 60'' down to 1'')

That created a massive print out in which the grid is bigger than the pages (A4) or the printout will not print at all and is spooling 16 pages for only a one room print out (I made a test dungeon map to figure this out).