Post-processing Map to Age It

Greetings. I saw a video about post-processing a map to make it look old, crumpled, and faded. The node-based processing software in the video seems to be unsupported, so I ask for input.

I have a nice, big map from CC3. I'm relatively new to CC3, but the map looks great. It's full-color in the default fantasy style. I want to put a section of it in the frontispiece of a novella. I'd like it to be sepia (or like it) and maybe weathered. The GIMP is great, but maybe it's a bit overkill and hard to reproduce exactly every time I need this.

Can anyone recommend post-processing software or another method to do quick, reproducible weathering?

Thanks.

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer

There are lots of different things you can do, but possibly the easiest if you happen to have an image of an old piece of parchment is to import that image onto a sheet that has a Blend Mode sheet effect on it set to multiply right at the bottom of the list of sheets (on top of everything else in the map).

I expect lots of others will come along and recommend more ways of doing it that are equally good, but that is one way of doing it within CC3.

roflo1ScottA
  • CC3 has the RBG matrix process that you can set to sepia. There are parchment backgrounds as loopysue mentioned.

As for GIMP, I think the question is what to do you mean by hard to reproduce exactly everytime. As it, sometimes does not work? Or that each time it is a bit different? If it is just a bit different, it should be that way because no two distressed effects will be the same. Simply load it up and select old paper and if you want distressed edges or not.

roflo1ScottA
  • About GIMP, I mean that I'm not a macro person, so hitting those saturation and hue sliders is cumbersome. It's not prohibitive, just clumbsy for me personally. I know, that's a silly excuse.

I understand the sheet and matrix ideas. I'll try that. Those ideas seem very useful.