Adding randomness to an imported coastline in Fractal Terrains 3+

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting here! I love using Fractal Terrains 3 for my worlbuilding projects but it's a little difficult to use. I have a coastline which I generated elsewhere and I know where I'd like to paint mountains. I imported my map into FT3+ and my sea is at an elevation of -9144m and my land is all at 1m. Is there a way I can introduce that fractal "look" of the landscapes from synthetic worlds? I can only raise and lower the land itself which raises in a very uniform way, I'm hoping to apply some randomness to how I raise and lower the land. Once I'm finished I'll be re-importing to Wilbur to perform erosion simulations.

[Deleted User]

Comments

• Do you have CC3? If so, import it there into another sheet. You can use the TRACED command to draw the landmass in CC3 (There are instructions in the blog on how to do this). Then you can click on the fracticalize option and select landmasses. Then you can export it out as a jpg. Then import it back into FT3 like you did with the current map.

• Woah, okay, I didn't know you could do that! I do have CC3, so I'll give that a try.

• jslaytonjslayton Moderator, ProFantasy Mapmaker

It looks like you imported a binary world. Depending on how high a resolution your world is, I would recommend using the Burn In To Surface operation, load your current outlines as a selection, and then slowly (maybe start at 0.1) increase the roughness channel of the world to increase the amount of the fractal function showing through. It will tend to pull the world underwater where the fractal channel is low, but you can use offset to raise the world a bit.

LoopysueQbic
  • THIS, I think this is what I was looking for, thank you so much! I just tried adding roughness to the landforms and it's exactly what I wanted.

• Can I somehow set the lowest height in my selection to be 1?