Looking for a style to match Paizo

Hi,

I'm new to using CC3. Up to now I've been mostly mapping for use on VTTs using tile sets and some editing in photopea. I wanted more control over my maps so I got CC3, but I want my homemade maps to match the style of the published maps I'm also using.

So, any suggestions for how to match the maps below? I started with CD3B and I'm pretty happy overall, but I'm having a hard time getting the right look for the water, walls, and trees.

jonasgreenfeatherMedio

Comments

• Hi there and welcome. I'm confused, these are the published maps you want to emulate or the ones you've drawn?

• Thanks!

Sorry, these are the ones I'm trying to emulate!

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer

Hi Joe :)

Please can we see one of your maps so we can focus on the aspects of what you feel you need to change?

• Joe JerolimoJoe Jerolimo Newcomer
    edited January 2022

Ok, the only one I've made significant progress on is the water. I'm pretty happy with it, but the darker tone blue along the coast looks too uniform, and I want to add some spots of highlight throughout to add more variablity.

I'm using the watercolor style from one of the annuals, so lots of layers with variable transparency. That uniform blue is the result of an Edge Fade, Inner with opacity reversed.

Lillhans
  • edited January 2022

Brighter patches for areas with houses seems the way to go - depending on what colours you bring in for the houses of course. You may want to go Blur only for those Sheets: if the polygon is small, EFI will do weird, sharp bits where edges are too close to one another.

• Walls I would probably do myself using circle and box tools.

So the bright gray here is the circle and box, respectively, which I gave a polygon contor and a splash of darker gray for variations. Easy enough to multiply strips of the same width for the wall and then the same with towers.

AleD