Floating City

Highland_PiperHighland_Piper Surveyor
edited April 2021 in Show and Tell

CA63 (2012) Jon Roberts Cities with CA165 (2020) City Cliffs

I'm normally more of an overland mapper or interior like building plans or dungeons. I don't do too many city maps. However my son asked for a map for his floating city campaign so how could I refuse.

I'm not very good at city maps and my terrain contours will need an overhaul before I continue to past the raised cliff area. I've got Google Maps open on my other monitor and I'm trying to get the street layout and building types looking less modern.

This map is going to be HUGE. So nice of my son to make it so ambitious. The raised cliff in the picture below is the castle and mansions of the ruling class, below the cliff will be more rich houses then slowing turning into slums on the edges with farmland in between.

Any suggestions or links to tutorials would be helpful

Comments

• Highland_PiperHighland_Piper Surveyor
    edited April 2021

For some reason there was no option to place the picture in the first post. Kind of miss the HTML forums if I'm being 100% honest.

MonsenLoopysue[Deleted User]DaishoChikaraAleD
  • LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer

That's pretty great for someone who declares themselves to be not very good at city maps :)

I'm having a little difficulty with this comment too, so I will come back later to add another one about how to make it look like it is floating.

• This is the whole island. The majority of it will be city but I will be putting in agricultural areas as well like fields, orchards, and grazing areas. I put the Floating Island above water, and the edge of the island uses the Cliff face symbols.

DaishoChikara

Ok. That is a pretty big city.