Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome Guest!
Want to take part in these discussions? If you have an account, sign in now.
If you don't have an account, apply for one now.
    I have gotten comfortable making basic bitmap fill drawing tools, for the most part. However, I have a drawing tool that places a tiled bitmap that has a transparent background so you can see the underlying color. What I would like it to do is apply a specific color into the shape that is being drawn, or clicked on using the draw like function, and apply the bitmap fill over that. I think I have to have a macro attached to the drawing tool in order to place the color. If so, what would that look like? I am just starting to work with CC3 macros and a total novice with them.
    • CommentAuthorLoopysue
    • CommentTimeFeb 9th 2020

I'm no expert but from your description I think you might be able to do this without a macro.

Next to the 'Properties' button in the 'Custom Drawing Tools' dialog, there is another button called 'Outline'. If you click this button you can choose an 'Extra entity'. This extra entity can be anything you like. Just click the properties button and set the coloured background polygon on a sheet below the one the pattern is being drawn on.
    •  
      CommentAuthorMonsen
    • CommentTimeFeb 9th 2020 edited

Sounds like you just need a drawing tool with two entities. You can do this without a macro, just specify that the outline should be an extra entity, then you can set the full set of properties for the outline. Note that if both entities go on the same sheet, the outline will be on top, so you need to make the main entity the solid color, and the outline using the transparent bitmap fill.

Edit: Seems like Sue beat me to it :)
    • CommentAuthorLoopysue
    • CommentTimeFeb 9th 2020

Well, I got it the wrong way around, Remy, so its just as well that you came along :)