Noob looking for Sensei advice on My World making

Hi yall, Very new to any forums of any kind AND new to working with CC3. I'm looking to create a world map of Earth Size then be able to utilize that to create Continent, Country, and area maps based from it. I'd like to utilize hexes to indicate mile units in the end. (3 miles per hr walked in clear terrain for a 24 miles in an 8hr walk day as a guide.)
So of course I couldn't wait and started my first parent map. I watched a lot of great tutorials to get the gist and am attaching my efforts so far. I tweaked some land sheet settings and contour sheet settings and just started adding Veg to the western hemisphere.
Any advice on how to make things look better so far... or how to set the map up better to accomplish my end goals would be very appreciated. As I say I'm new to programs of this type and anything that might help me avoid headaches later are welcome. Here's my map!

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    edited November 2019
    My first thoughts when looking at your map is to be mindful of the detail level. Personally, I find your symbols to be a bit on the smallish side of things. These are the reasons why I recommend larger symbols:
    - Map readability. The map may look good when zoomed in, but it will easily look to cluttered when zooming out, as well as actually making out what the symbols actually are is difficult. You have already stated you want to make regional maps from this map, which is a great idea, which also means you don't have to have all the detail in this map.
    - Mapping fatigue. Mapping everything in tiny detail takes work, and it is easy to tire oneself out. It is generally better to no overdo the details on any map level, saving additional detail for the next level.