First crack at an overland map. Would appreciate feedback

So, I bought the software a couple of months ago, and have been tinkering with it here and there. This is my first attempt at an overland map, which taught my several helpful tips. The map itself is based on an actual area -- a roughly 40mi x 40mi region near Columbus, MT (but rotated 90 degrees clockwise on the compass). I'm still getting the hang of the software, but I'd love to hear folks' suggestions on how to improve the map.

The basic background is that this will be the overland map for the campaign I'll be running (also my first time DMing) in D&D 5e. The PCs start at level 1, and the adventure should take them up to about level 4. The PCs are an adventuring company hired by a local lord to find the source of, and put an end to, raids that have been happening on the merchant caravans that run southward to the town, and on the town's outlying settlements. There are a couple of red herrings to draw the players' attention.

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    If you drop special characters from the filename the map will display properly in your post instead of being just a link.
  • Solo4114Solo4114 Newcomer
    edited September 2019
    <blockquote><cite>Posted By: Monsen</cite>If you drop special characters from the filename the map will display properly in your post instead of being just a link.</blockquote>

Ah, ok. Give me just a minute...

--EDIT--

Hope I did that right.

I can also try uploading a larger version of the map. I resized to fit the screen here and some of the detail gets lost.
  • LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    There is a size limit here on the forum, but if you want to show a larger version you can link to a drop box location if you wish.

Looks like you had a lot of fun doing this map. Nice first map :)
  • Solo4114Solo4114 Newcomer
    edited September 2019