FT3+ How to get realistic worlds

I apologize for the complex questions. I've read the user guide, and tome of ultimate mapping, and I still cannot get Fractal Terrains to make anything remotely realistic or Earth-like. As a newb I assume human error and my own ignorance are in play. So before I sink a ton of time manually tweaking a map that has a close-enough coastline but totally weird features, I wanted to see if there is something I am doing wrong that can adjust.

What I mean by "realistic" is a world where continents have mountains down the sides not the middle (Rockies/Andes on the West coasts of the Americas, the Alps in the south of Europe, the Himalayas on the North of India, etc.), and where there are large flat expanses alongside the ranges.

Every world I generate, using every combination of settings I can think of, places mountains in the dead center of each landmass or island, and only gives teeny-tiny areas of flatlands. Nothing like the central European plains much less the vast North American plains or the African Savanna; I can't even get something the size of the Gobi desert.
So what are the recommended settings? Or is this something that has to be manually tweaked each time?

Secondarily, are there any settings that will generate trenches, abyssal plains, and large continental shelves around island chains? On Earth's oceans there are the shallow areas (littoral) and the benthic (bathyal, abyssal, hadal) regions with hadal being the really deep trenches, abyssal often being immense flat plains, and bathyal being the slopes from the edge of the continental shelves down to the abyssal plains. FT doesn't seem to model oceans with these features. If I understand it, the software just does altitudes then fills the globe with water and some land ends up above and some below. So I'm guessing that the only possible way to get oceans with these features is manually? Or are there some settings that can do it?