WIP - The World of Rodinia

All,

I'm an utter newbie at this and this is my first effort at a map with CC3+. I've got a homebrew world, known as Rodinia, which has been in the making for 18+ years now. It's been the locale for my D&D campaigns for that period and one of the continents was the setting for the two novels I've published. But I've decided to revamp the whole place, starting with drawing some (I hope) good quality maps for it. So I have come here seeking feedback. Be as complimentary or as constructive as you like - I'll enjoy any good comments and try to learn from any constructive ones.

Here is my first effort. Any comments?

Thanks in advance
Blakey

Comments

• Lovely forms! Yours mountains and rivers make sense and I dont see any evident trouble with the terrains. I would put the Great Desert on the other side of the mountains range, but we have real world deserts that are similar with that one, so, is just a matter of taste here.

The text may improve if you put some sort of outside glow on it. It is a bit hard to read right now.

Congrats for the great work!
  • I agree that this is very tasteful, and a great first map!. A few things - I would reduce the scale of the cultivated land (see the menu in the FS slot ast the estreme upper right of the program); and I would definitely add a scale. As well, I would indicate the equator and polar regions, and tropic zones- this will make placement of deserts more 'real', as hot dry deserts occur around 30 latitude, and cold dry deserts (ice fields and tundra) at the polar regions. Of course, I relise that this may onlt be the northern hemisphere, which it does look like.
  • Thanks for the response guys!

So, regarding the placement of terrain like the Great Desert, that is fixed as it's already a part of lore and been visited by characters, so I can't suddenly transport it across the mountain range. :) That is true of most of the major land features.