Import from FM8 to CC3+?

Hello all,

Newbie here and looking at CC3+ with envious eyes. Seriously considering a purchase of the software. But:-

I have an entire world, 18 years in the making, which is built using Fractal Mapper 8.10g. I think CC3+ is the mapping software to go to but clearly I don't want to have to rebuild my world from scratch if I can avoid it - especially as I take regular exports from FM8 into JPEG maps and hot spot them in HTML to make them clickable, meaning the exact measurements of the maps is vital. Is there a feature to import FM8 into CC3+? I've done a search and can't find anything other than a discussion back in 2010 when it was not possible.

If it's not possible out of the box, has anyone done this by hand and how painful was it?

Any help appreciated.

Thanks
Blakey

Comments

• Still not possible to my knowledge. Some years ago, about 1983, I made over a thousand 5mm hexagon paper maps of my game world Crestar.

I got FM8 some years ago so I could read maps not in png or fcw format.

The only way I could get them into CC3+ was to convert the jpg to png, import into cc3+, trace and make new maps, export as png. Put them up on a web site. I used Irfanview, free software no adverts not affiliated with them, to do my conversions.

As mentioned earlier in this thread, I converted them using that method. Did this with about 2,500 maps total. I had made my game world's surface maps in 185 x 234 mile maps. After around 7 - 8 years, I decoded to redo my game world. I used FT3 to make the northern hemisphere which wasnt mapped before. I haven't done my dungeons yet, I'm working on my Traveller site recently.

Used CC3/CC3+ to make new maps for the southern hemisphere.

So, it is possible, but it requires work. Took me several years to do covert my paper maps to jpg. Allyn convinced me to use pngs instead. Took me some time, but I think it was/is a good idea.