WIP The Barrow Hills

Hi all,

I am fairly new to Campaign Cartographer and have been working on a map for a D&D campaign that I am planning. I still have a lot of work to do -- including coming up with names for a lot of the regions and some of the historical people, locations, and civilizations. For the most part, I've been spending my time learning about geography, cities, mountains, the flow of rivers. Fun stuff. Pretty sure that my wife is sick of me talking about all of this. ;) :P

Anyway, here's the map I am working on... The region is called the Barrow Hills. Most people won't know why it has that name -- they couldn't point to any specific burial grounds, but there are burial grounds from one of the first civilizations to have settled the region in the hills just south of the east-west river. (One of the initial plot hooks I am planning.)

[Image_11224]

Culturally, this is a Mediterranean-style civilization -- a melting pot of different cultures and races. The town and villages are filled with humans, dwarves, and elves. The grasslands belong to aboriginal tribes who reclaimed the land of their ancestors soon after the cataclysm.

Historically, this region was the center of several civilizations -- mostly because it was a powerful nexus of magic. 200 years ago, there was a great explosion in the capital city and a blight settled over the city and the surrounding region. Since then, major magics (anything above a cantrip) has not worked consistently -- so much so that they have been banned. However, cantrip-level magic has become a pretty significant part of the culture here and is contributed significantly to the development of the region: from farming to herding to mining. While the region is no longer a significant magical or military power, it remains an economic powerhouse (relative to its size).