Usefulness of annual 2012 or 2013 with Perspectives 3

Hi. I am brand new to ProFantasy and Campaign Cartographer.

I am very much interested in the Perspectives 3 add-on. I have discount coupons for Perspectives and a huge discount for one Annual until the end of May. I am soliciting opinions on whether the Herwin Wielink Isometric Dungeons style pack in volume 6 (2012) or the Perspective Buildings style pack in volume 7 (2013) would be a more useful addition.

Since I am very new to CC I don't know its history. It looks to me as though Perspectives 3 might be a product inspired by Wielink's work therefore much of his Isometric Dungeon style pack might be included in Perspectives. Whereas the Perspective Buildings pack is a true addition to the Perspectives product. But that's just an out-of-my-hat guess.

Opinions? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• JimPJimP 🖼️ 280 images Cartographer
    edited May 2018
    I have made several Isometric dungeons under the Community Atlas, Desperate Caves. I used symbols form both the Iso and the Perspectives add-on.

Desperate caves 4

The Lost Mines of the Depserate Mountains

more iso/perspective caves

I hope that is enough for you to go on.

edit: I am not a great mapper, and certainly cannot draw, but I hope you can see good maps can be turned out with this software.
  • edited May 2018
    Jim, thank you for getting back to me. I appreciate your help. Your maps are impressive. I have a lot of work ahead of me coming up to speed. I followed several links embedded in your posts as well as those by some of your colleagues. All the isometric maps I saw were of dungeons. Has anyone done any 3D (Perspectives) outdoor battlemaps? My immediate interest is, say, an encounter in a steeply sloped ravine. I noted in one of your posts you mentioned a deserted village in a volcano caldera. That sounds like an outdoor setting. Have you tackled that yet?